Who Killed Nawab Akbar Khan Bugti and Why??

An old interview with Nawab Khair Bux Marri

by Baluch Reporter

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Last week I visited Waja Nawab Khair Bux Marri sahib in his luxury residence in defense area in Karachi for a face to face interview. He was watching cockfighting, when I got there. Here is the transcript of that interview for our readers.

Baluch Reporter: Waja What is going on??

Nawab Khair Bux Marri : (laughing) Just look around and see yourself…lot of things happening…!

Baluch Reporter: are you happy what is going on?

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: Off-course. after all I live in a luxury house in defense and enjoying comfort with no problem.

Baluch Reporter: Tell me the truth, who killed Nawab Bugti?
6781174747_d875f48299.jpg

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: look my both sons were enjoying the minister-ship Job during Akhtar Mengal’s Govt and we were all happy, making good money. All of sudden some misunderstanding came up between Akbar Khan and Akhtar Mengal. Akbar Khan insisted Akhtar Mengal to take action against his son’s killers, the Kalpers, But Akhtar refused to do so because of pressure from ISI and Islamabad. This went too far and led to the departure of Akbar Bugti’s JWP from Balochistan Govt resulting Akhtar Mengal’s Govt to collapse. My sons and Akhtar Mengal tried to save our Govt by joining hands with Pakistan Muslim League of Nawaz Sharif, but Punjabi dumped us and we lost our chance to continue in Balochistan Govt due to Bugti’s stubbornness. This effected all of us. Our Luxury days were over. My sons were upset because of loosing their good jobs as ministers. I was mad. Sardar Mengal and his son Akltahr Mengal was upset. We all were equally mad and angry with Bugti’s bullheaded attitude. He should had just forgotten his son, but no, he wanted to take the revenge.

Baluch Reporter: If it was your son wouldn’t you do the same and insisted on bringing the killer to justice?

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: Off-course I would, but who cares if it was Bugti’s son. One day he had to die anyway, sooner the better.

Baluch Reporter: Did you or Sardar Mengal played a role, directly or indirectly, to eliminate Nawab Bugti?

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: If I say no, that would be a BIG lie and I would be the biggest liar in the world. Yes we did and he deserved it. He wanted to project himself the king of Jungle, the king of Baloch politics and he thought without his will nothing will move in Balochistan, not even a leaf of a tree. We wanted to eliminate him so we can take over. He was a big obstacle in our way. I could not carry out my Political goals with him being around. Sardar Attaullah Mengal felt the same way. We were helplessly watching him grow in political power. The masses were with him. We had no other options but to eliminate him. That’s why when Choudri Shujaat and Mushahid Hussain on their way to Dera Bugti to meet Bugti made a stop by in Karachi to meet Saradar Attaullah in his house in defense to discuss the ISI plan to eliminate the irritant Bugti, Sardar called me and asked my opinion, and I told him, that we will facilitate the plan and will help to get Bugti out of the way. For that purpose ISI gave us 200 millions rupees to revive the dead BLA to play its role. The Plan was that Gen Musharrf will come to Kholu and BLA will fire some rocket in the air pretending to kill the him and this will pave the way for the military to carry out its action against Bugti and that is exactly what happened as planned by ISI. You saw, we fired the rockets in Khulo, but the military operation was started in Dera Bugti and Bugti’s house was bombed to make run in the mountains. The rest is history.

Baluch Reporter: Do you regret what you did?

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: Not at all. I think he deserved it. We all think Akbar deserved it.

Baluch Reporter: How you like your cockfighting thing?

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: I enjoy it a lot. It is fun. Hwn I was in Afghanistan in 1970,s, I used to play and watch cockfighting all day long. When Pakistan’s military dictator General Zia-ul-Haq sent me military Jet C-130 to rescue me and airlift me from Afghanistan, I took all my Rooster and Chickens and refused to leave them behind. I didn’t take other Marri Balochs like Mir Hazar Khan and hios family and Shero Marri to board with me but I did take my Roosters and chickens so I can continue my hobby in Balochistan. I didn’t care about Hazar Khan and Shero Marri and their family members and that’s why they hate me. But I don’t care. I do what I like to do. People like it or not, who cares.

Baluch Reporter: Thank you waja.

Nawab Khair Bux Marri: Welcome !

Leave a Reply

